Ingredient Directory A to Z

Supplement label guide

Green Tea Extract: EGCG, Caffeine, and Label Guide

A 500 mg green tea extract is not automatically 500 mg of EGCG. Compare the extract amount with the declared polyphenols, catechins, EGCG, caffeine, full serving, and daily directions. These details matter more than “antioxidant” or “fat burner” wording on the front.

Also listed as: Camellia sinensis, green tea leaf extract, GTE, green tea catechins, tea polyphenols, EGCG, epigallocatechin gallate, decaffeinated green tea extract, or green tea phytosome.

NutriDetector Editorial Team Updated Editorial Policy

Green tea extract concentrates selected compounds from the tea leaf

Green tea and black tea come from Camellia sinensis. Green tea is processed with less oxidation, which preserves a catechin-rich profile. EGCG, short for epigallocatechin gallate, is one of those catechins and is often the marker highlighted on supplement labels. 1, 2

Capsules and tablets can deliver concentrated extract rather than a beverage-like preparation. That makes the exact extract amount, marker standardization, caffeine disclosure, serving size, and directions important. Evidence and safety observations from concentrated supplements should not be applied automatically to an ordinary cup of brewed tea, or the other way around.

Why brands use it

Green tea extract appears in antioxidant, metabolic, energy, pre-workout, cardiovascular, and weight-management formulas. The ingredient may contribute catechins, caffeine, or both. A front label rarely shows which of those is responsible for the product’s positioning, so the Supplement Facts panel remains the useful comparison point.

Extract, leaf powder, matcha, and phytosome are not equal weights

The number beside the ingredient describes the mass of the listed material. It does not make different preparations chemically interchangeable. A standardized extract can disclose a defined catechin or EGCG share, while ordinary leaf powder or matcha has a naturally variable profile unless the label provides a separate assay or marker amount.

What common preparation wording establishes

Green tea leaf powder
The amount refers to powdered leaf material. Do not compare those milligrams directly with a concentrated extract amount.
Matcha green tea powder
Matcha is whole-leaf powder and commonly contains caffeine. It is not automatically a standardized EGCG extract.
Green tea extract, standardized
The extract mass and named marker percentage can be compared. Check which marker the percentage describes.
Green tea phytosome or phospholipid complex
The stated weight may represent the full extract and phospholipid complex. Use any separately declared catechin or EGCG amount rather than assuming one-to-one equivalence with a plain extract.
Decaffeinated green tea extract
This describes caffeine reduction, not the amount of EGCG and not the absence of every liver-related concern. Prefer an explicit caffeine amount or limit.

Polyphenols, catechins, and EGCG are nested, not additive

Polyphenols are a broad group. Catechins are part of that group, and EGCG is one catechin. A label can therefore state several percentages for the same extract without describing three separate piles of material. Adding those percentages together would double count overlapping components.

When the percentages clearly apply to total extract weight, multiplication can show the nominal amount represented by the claim. This is label arithmetic, not a laboratory measurement of the finished product.

Illustrative green tea extract label math

This example explains a clearly written label. It is not a dose recommendation or proof of tested content.

Green tea extract
500 mg per listed serving
Total polyphenols, 98%
Nominally 490 mg within the 500 mg extract
Total catechins, 80%
Nominally 400 mg within the same 500 mg extract
EGCG, 50%
Nominally 250 mg within the same 500 mg extract
Correct total
500 mg of extract. Do not add 490 mg, 400 mg, and 250 mg to the extract weight because these marker groups overlap.

A measurable marker change is not proof of a broad health outcome

Weight loss and fat burning

A Cochrane review found that green tea preparations produced a very small, statistically non-significant weight change that was unlikely to be clinically important, with no meaningful benefit for weight maintenance. A thermogenic mechanism does not establish a predictable body-weight result. 5

Cholesterol claims

Reviews summarized by NCCIH report small reductions in total and LDL cholesterol, without consistent effects on HDL cholesterol or triglycerides. A modest average biomarker change is not proof that one supplement prevents cardiovascular events. 1

Antioxidant claims

Catechins have antioxidant and cell-signaling activity. That biochemical description does not prove detoxification, disease prevention, slower aging, or a clinically important outcome from the labeled serving. 1, 7

Energy and focus

Some products contain caffeine, so perceived energy or alertness may reflect stimulant exposure rather than a unique effect of EGCG. A decaffeinated formula and a 40 mg caffeine formula should not be treated as the same product. 6

Start with EGCG and caffeine, then reconstruct the full daily use

The extract amount is only the first number. The most informative labels identify Camellia sinensis leaf, distinguish powder from extract, disclose the relevant standardization, state caffeine clearly, and make the serving and maximum daily use easy to follow.

Keep the extract, marker, caffeine, and serving numbers separate

Start by identifying whether the listed material is leaf powder, matcha, a plain extract, or a delivery-system complex. Record the total amount in the complete listed serving, then read any polyphenol, catechin, and EGCG percentages or explicit amounts in that context.

Do not add nested marker amounts to the extract weight or to one another. Check caffeine separately, including on products described as decaffeinated, and use the directions to determine the maximum daily number of servings shown on the label.

Review other green tea, EGCG, caffeine, pre-workout, energy, and weight-management products for overlap. For the broader method, read How to Read Supplement Labels.

Wording that should not be overread

98% polyphenols
This is a broad marker claim. It does not mean the extract is 98% EGCG and does not establish a clinical outcome.
50% EGCG
This can support label arithmetic when it clearly refers to the extract weight. It remains a declared specification rather than independent testing of the capsule.
Decaffeinated
This does not quantify residual caffeine. An explicit caffeine amount or upper limit provides a clearer comparison.
Clinically studied extract
Check whether the label identifies the same preparation, marker profile, serving, and study context. The phrase alone does not transfer every study result to the product.

Green tea and caffeine can repeat under different product names

A standalone green tea capsule may overlap with a pre-workout, thermogenic blend, energy product, or another formula that lists EGCG or caffeine. The repeated exposure can be easy to miss when one product lists extract milligrams, another lists EGCG, and a third hides the ingredients inside a proprietary blend.

Illustrative stack review

This example shows why unlike label numbers should remain separate. It is not a recommended combination.

Green tea extract capsule
400 mg extract, standardized to 50% EGCG; nominally 200 mg EGCG
Pre-workout
40 mg caffeine and 250 mg green tea extract; EGCG not disclosed
Thermogenic blend
800 mg total blend containing green tea and caffeine; individual amounts hidden
What remains known
The first product’s nominal EGCG and the pre-workout’s caffeine are disclosed. The full daily EGCG, green tea extract, and caffeine totals cannot be completed from the hidden blend.

The 800 mg EGCG signal is not a universal safe-dose line

EFSA found that supplemental EGCG at 800 mg per day was associated with early signs of liver injury in human intervention studies. EFSA could not identify a supplement dose that was free of concern for everyone. The number should therefore be read as a risk signal, not as a target and not as proof that every lower amount is safe. 2, 3

Liver injury from green tea products is uncommon but well documented, with reports concentrated mainly around extracts in tablets and capsules. A large randomized trial using 843 mg EGCG per day found substantially more ALT elevations with extract than placebo. Individual susceptibility varies, and case reports do not support treating one lower number as a guaranteed safe boundary. 1, 7, 8

Food, caffeine, and medicine context

USP’s review found that fasting can increase catechin exposure and supports cautionary labeling not to take concentrated extract on an empty stomach. European rules for EGCG-containing green tea extracts also require an empty-stomach warning and disclosure of EGCG per portion. For products sold under those EU rules, the label must also warn against using other green-tea-containing products on the same day. Follow the product directions, and seek clinical guidance before using a concentrated extract with liver disease or other relevant risk factors. 3, 4

Caffeine can add sleep disruption, anxiety, palpitations, higher blood pressure, or gastrointestinal effects in sensitive users. Review it across coffee, tea, energy drinks, pre-workouts, and supplements rather than product by product. FDA cites 400 mg per day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects for most adults, while emphasizing that sensitivity, medicines, pregnancy, and health conditions change the context. 6

Green tea can alter exposure to some medicines. NCCIH specifically notes interactions reported with nadolol, atorvastatin, and raloxifene and advises medicine review before using green tea supplements. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, and use by children also require more conservative guidance because concentrated extract and caffeine exposure differ from ordinary beverage use. 1, 3

How NutriDetector reads green tea extract labels

NutriDetector reviews supported Green Tea and Camellia sinensis wording, the amount per listed serving, leaf powder or matcha versus extract wording, supported decaffeinated and phytosome context, declared polyphenol, catechin, or EGCG standardization, explicitly listed caffeine, serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula. When a marker, caffeine amount, or individual blend amount is not disclosed, that uncertainty remains visible rather than being treated as known.

When products are added to My Stack, NutriDetector can compare the disclosed green tea forms, extract amounts, marker wording, caffeine lines, serving details, and co-ingredients across saved supplements. It evaluates information disclosed on the label. Laboratory testing would still be required to confirm botanical identity, actual EGCG or caffeine content, purity, contaminants, extraction quality, or batch consistency, while medicine compatibility and personal suitability depend on the individual and the complete product.

Analyze the full formula

Compare the EGCG and caffeine, not only the extract milligrams.

Analyze the complete supplement label to review the green tea preparation, extract amount, marker standardization, caffeine, serving context, blend transparency, and surrounding ingredients.

Analyze a supplement label

Green Tea Extract FAQ

What is green tea extract?

Green tea extract is a concentrated preparation made from Camellia sinensis leaves. Supplement labels may disclose total extract mass plus marker percentages or amounts for polyphenols, catechins, and EGCG. The preparation is not automatically equivalent to brewed tea, leaf powder, or matcha.

Is 500 mg of green tea extract the same as 500 mg of EGCG?

No. The 500 mg usually describes total extract mass. EGCG is one component of that extract. A label standardized to 50% EGCG would nominally represent 250 mg EGCG within a 500 mg extract when the percentage clearly applies to the extract weight.

What is the difference between polyphenols, catechins, and EGCG?

Polyphenols are the broadest group, catechins are a subgroup of polyphenols, and EGCG is one catechin. Because the groups overlap, their declared percentages or nominal amounts should not be added together as separate ingredients.

How do I calculate EGCG from a percentage?

Multiply the extract amount by the stated EGCG percentage when the label clearly says the percentage applies to that extract. For example, 400 mg of extract standardized to 50% EGCG nominally represents 200 mg EGCG. This is arithmetic based on the label claim, not laboratory confirmation.

Does decaffeinated green tea extract mean caffeine-free?

Not necessarily. Decaffeinated indicates caffeine reduction but does not quantify the remainder. Prefer a label that gives an explicit caffeine amount or upper limit, especially when the same stack includes coffee, tea, energy products, or pre-workouts.

Does green tea extract cause meaningful weight loss?

Current review evidence does not support a predictable, clinically important weight-loss effect. A Cochrane review found a very small, statistically non-significant effect and no meaningful benefit for weight maintenance. Catechin or caffeine mechanisms should not be presented as a guaranteed body-weight outcome.

Can green tea extract affect the liver?

Yes. Liver injury is uncommon but has been reported mainly with concentrated extracts in tablets or capsules. Higher supplemental EGCG exposure and fasting are important safety concerns, while individual susceptibility varies. A retail label cannot establish personal liver safety.

Is 800 mg of EGCG per day a safe upper limit?

No. EFSA observed liver-related concern at 800 mg per day from supplements but could not identify a dose free of concern for everyone. Treat 800 mg as a liver-risk signal, not a target or proof that every lower dose is safe. Under current EU rules, the daily portion must contain less than 800 mg EGCG from green tea extract.

Is green tea extract the same as matcha?

No. Matcha is whole-leaf green tea powder. Green tea extract is a concentrated preparation and may be standardized to polyphenols, catechins, or EGCG. Equal milligram amounts do not establish equal catechin, EGCG, or caffeine exposure.

What can NutriDetector and My Stack check?

NutriDetector can review supported Green Tea and Camellia sinensis wording, the disclosed amount per listed serving, powder or matcha versus extract wording, supported decaffeinated and phytosome context, declared marker standardization, explicitly listed caffeine, serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula. My Stack can compare those disclosed details across saved products. Laboratory testing is still required to confirm botanical identity, actual content, purity, contaminants, extraction quality, or batch consistency.

Scientific references and official sources
  1. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Green Tea: Usefulness and Safety. NCCIH.
  2. EFSA Panel on Food Additives and Nutrient Sources added to Food. Scientific opinion on the safety of green tea catechins. EFSA Journal. 2018;16(4):5239. EFSA.
  3. European Commission. Commission Regulation (EU) 2022/2340 concerning green tea extracts containing EGCG. EUR-Lex.
  4. Oketch-Rabah HA, Roe AL, Rider CV, et al. United States Pharmacopeia comprehensive review of the hepatotoxicity of green tea extracts. Toxicology Reports. 2020;7:386-402. PubMed.
  5. Jurgens TM, Whelan AM, Killian L, Doucette S, Kirk S, Foy E. Green tea for weight loss and weight maintenance in overweight or obese adults. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2021;6:CD008650. Cochrane.
  6. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine is Too Much? FDA.
  7. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Green Tea. LiverTox: Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury. NCBI Bookshelf.
  8. Dostal AM, Samavat H, Bedell S, et al. The safety of green tea extract supplementation in postmenopausal women at risk for breast cancer: results of the Minnesota Green Tea Trial. Food and Chemical Toxicology. 2015;83:26-35. PubMed.