Ingredient Directory A to Z

Ingredient label guide

Nicotinamide Riboside: Forms, Amounts, and Label Guide

Nicotinamide riboside is a vitamin B3-related NAD+ precursor used in healthy-aging, energy, metabolic, and brain-health formulas. Human studies show that oral NR can change specified NAD-related blood markers, but that does not establish slower aging or a predictable clinical benefit.

Also listed as: NR, nicotinamide riboside chloride, NR chloride, or the branded ingredient NIAGEN. NR, NMN, niacinamide, nicotinic acid, NAD+, and NADH are related but different label ingredients.

NutriDetector Editorial Team Updated Editorial Policy

NR is an NAD+ precursor, not NAD+ in a capsule

Nicotinamide riboside is a form of vitamin B3 that can enter NAD+ biosynthetic pathways. NAD+ is a coenzyme involved in redox reactions, energy metabolism, and enzyme systems that participate in cellular signaling and repair. That biology explains why NR is marketed as an NAD+ precursor. 1

The precursor relationship does not make NR milligrams equivalent to NAD+ milligrams in blood or tissue. Conversion, metabolism, distribution, baseline status, tissue, sampling method, and study duration all affect what a measured change means.

Use the broader NAD+ guide when the product front says only NAD booster or NAD complex. Use this page when the Supplement Facts panel specifically identifies nicotinamide riboside or nicotinamide riboside chloride.

The chloride form and the declared amount must be read together

Most retail research and regulatory documentation concerns nicotinamide riboside chloride. NIAGEN is a branded raw material name for this chloride form. A trademark adds ingredient provenance, but does not by itself prove that a finished product contains the stated amount or produces a better outcome. 2

Keep related label identities separate

Nicotinamide riboside
The active NR name. Record the declared amount and any source form shown in parentheses.
Nicotinamide riboside chloride
The common chloride salt. If the amount is attached to the full chloride name, it describes the chloride compound rather than pure NR mass.
NIAGEN
A branded nicotinamide riboside chloride raw material. The finished serving amount and formula still need to be read.
Liposomal or sublingual NR
Delivery claims, not separate NAD+ precursors. Check whether the underlying ingredient is NR or NR chloride and whether the delivery claim has comparative human evidence.
NMN, niacinamide, nicotinic acid, NAD+, or NADH
Related pathway ingredients with different identities, evidence, amounts, and safety contexts.

Parentheses determine what the number owns

A line such as “Nicotinamide riboside 300 mg (as nicotinamide riboside chloride)” declares 300 mg of NR and identifies chloride as its source. A line that instead declares “Nicotinamide riboside chloride 300 mg” attaches the amount to the chloride compound. Do not apply salt conversion to the first pattern or ignore the amount basis in the second.

A change in blood NAD+ is a biomarker result, not an anti-aging outcome

Controlled human trials show that oral NR can increase whole-blood NAD+ and related metabolites. An eight-week trial reported dose-related whole-blood NAD+ increases at 100, 300, and 1,000 mg per day. A six-week crossover trial using 1,000 mg per day also found increased NAD+ metabolism in healthy middle-aged and older adults. 3, 4

These results support a narrow statement: the tested NR products changed specified circulating NAD-related measurements under the study conditions. They do not show that a consumer became younger, gained energy, improved cognition, or reduced disease risk.

Keep the measurement attached to the claim

Whole-blood NAD+ increased
A measured biomarker change in a defined sample and protocol. It is not a direct measurement of every tissue.
NAD-related metabolites changed
Evidence that NR entered relevant metabolic pathways, not proof of a clinical benefit.
Cellular energy support
A structure-function claim based on NAD+ biology. It does not establish an acute stimulant effect or predictable improvement in fatigue.

Clinical outcomes have not matched the breadth of the marketing

Metabolic health

In obese, insulin-resistant men, 2,000 mg per day for 12 weeks did not improve insulin sensitivity, glucose metabolism, resting energy expenditure, lipid oxidation, or body composition. 5

Energy and performance

Small trials have not consistently shown improved mitochondrial function or whole-body energy metabolism. 6

Brain and healthy aging

A 2026 randomized pilot trial in adults with amnestic mild cognitive impairment found that NR increased blood NAD+ but did not improve cognitive function over 12 weeks. Human evidence does not establish that general NR supplementation prevents cognitive decline, reverses aging, or extends lifespan. 7

A 2025 review of human NAD+ precursor research found that clinical efficacy remains limited and that evidence across human tissues is still sparse. That supports a narrower interpretation of NR than the broad energy and healthy-aging claims often built around NAD+ biology. 11

Whole-blood NAD+ is not a biological-age score

A 2026 study used a validated analytical method across seven human cohorts and found that whole-blood NAD+ remained stable across age and lifestyle interventions, while still changing in response to NR supplementation. The authors concluded that whole-blood NAD+ has limited utility as a biomarker of aging or lifestyle factors. 8

The study does not prove that NAD+ never changes with age in any tissue. It shows why a whole-blood number should not be treated as a universal measure of cellular age, and why increasing that number is not the same as reversing aging.

For the broader context, read Does NAD+ Really Decline With Age? and NMN vs NR.

Read the ingredient line before comparing the headline milligrams

Current U.S. supplement labels show several disclosure patterns: standalone branded NR, nicotinamide riboside chloride, time-release combinations, and NAD+ blends with polyphenols or methyl donors. One NIH label record, for example, lists 300 mg of nicotinamide riboside chloride in a two-capsule serving alongside quercetin, resveratrol, and betaine. 9

Illustrative NR label lines

These examples explain disclosure quality and amount ownership. They are not dosing recommendations or laboratory findings.

Nicotinamide riboside, 300 mg (as NR chloride)
The panel declares 300 mg of NR and identifies chloride as the source. Do not reduce the declared 300 mg.
Nicotinamide riboside chloride, 300 mg
The amount is attached to the full chloride compound. Keep that basis visible when comparing with a label that declares active NR.
NIAGEN nicotinamide riboside, 300 mg
The branded raw material and amount are visible. The trademark does not verify the finished product or prove a clinical outcome.
NAD+ precursor blend, 1,000 mg: NR, NMN, niacinamide
The total blend mass is disclosed, but the individual NR amount is not.
Liposomal NR complex, 500 mg
It is unclear whether 500 mg describes NR, NR chloride, or the full delivery complex unless the panel says so.

A practical NR label check

  1. Confirm the capsule, tablet, scoop, or liquid volume in the full serving.
  2. Identify NR, NR chloride, NIAGEN, NMN, niacinamide, direct NAD+, and NADH separately.
  3. Check which ingredient or compound owns the stated milligrams.
  4. Keep liposomal, sublingual, and time-release wording attached to the delivery claim.
  5. Keep NR separate from other NAD+ precursors and co-ingredients.

If the individual NR amount is hidden, the total blend weight cannot be assigned to NR. Read What Is a Proprietary Blend? for the broader transparency problem.

Several NAD+ products can repeat NR or stack different precursors

A standalone NR capsule can overlap with a longevity blend that also contains NR. Another product may add NMN, niacinamide, or direct NAD+ instead. Repeated NR should be totaled across listed servings, while different precursors remain separate ingredients rather than being converted into one invented NAD+ equivalent.

Example across two products

Standalone NR
Nicotinamide riboside 300 mg per capsule, one capsule per listed serving.
Healthy-aging formula
NR chloride 250 mg plus NMN, resveratrol, and betaine per listed serving.
Different amount bases
Both products disclose NR-related material, but the amount statements use different bases. NMN remains a separate precursor rather than being converted into an invented NAD+ equivalent.

Study exposure and regulatory limits are not one universal target

Human studies have used amounts from 100 mg to 2,000 mg per day, but those protocols differ in duration, population, preparation, and purpose. They do not establish that more NR is better or create one evidence-based daily dose for energy, cognition, metabolism, or healthy aging. 3, 4, 5

Short controlled trials generally reported that NR was tolerated, but they are not a mature long-term safety database for every user and combination. The eight-week dose-ranging trial found no flushing and no significant adverse-event difference from placebo; this does not guarantee that no individual will experience an adverse effect. 3

The current EU novel-food authorization allows nicotinamide riboside chloride in food supplements at up to 300 mg per day for adults excluding pregnant and lactating women, and up to 230 mg per day for pregnant and lactating women. These are regional conditions for a specified ingredient and use, not a global upper limit or personal recommendation. 10

Keep each number in its own frame

300 mg NR chloride per day (EU)
The EU maximum for the specified adult food-supplement use, not a universal target or personal recommendation.
U.S.: no NR-specific Daily Value
FDA has not established a Daily Value for nicotinamide riboside. This does not establish a recommended dose or imply that any amount is appropriate.
1,000 or 2,000 mg in a trial
An investigational protocol tied to its population, preparation, duration, and outcome.
No niacin flush reported
A finding from particular trials, not proof that every formulation and user will have no adverse effect.

How NutriDetector reads nicotinamide riboside labels

NutriDetector reviews supported nicotinamide riboside, NR chloride, NIAGEN, liposomal, and sublingual wording, the amount per listed serving, amount basis, serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula. When an individual NR amount is not disclosed, that uncertainty remains visible rather than being treated as known.

When products are added to My Stack, NutriDetector can compare disclosed NR-related forms, amounts, delivery wording, serving context, blend placement, and co-ingredients across saved supplements. NR, NR chloride, NMN, niacinamide, direct NAD+, NADH, carrier mass, and total blend weight remain separate label quantities.

NutriDetector evaluates the information disclosed on the label. Laboratory testing would still be required to confirm identity, actual amount, purity, stability, contaminants, delivery-system performance, or batch consistency, while biomarker response, clinical outcomes, medicine compatibility, and personal suitability depend on the individual and complete product.

Analyze the full formula

See what the NAD+ claim actually contains.

Review the exact NR identity, amount basis, full serving, delivery wording, blend transparency, repeated precursors, and surrounding formula together. A label analysis does not measure NAD+ or predict an anti-aging outcome.

Analyze a supplement label

Nicotinamide riboside supplement FAQ

What is nicotinamide riboside?

Nicotinamide riboside is a vitamin B3-related precursor used in NAD+ biosynthetic pathways. It is not direct NAD+, and an NR amount does not state how much NAD+ will appear in blood, cells, or tissues.

Is nicotinamide riboside chloride the same as NR?

Nicotinamide riboside chloride is the common chloride salt of NR. If a label declares NR and gives chloride only as the source in parentheses, the stated amount belongs to NR. If the amount is attached to the full chloride name, keep it identified as chloride compound mass.

What is NIAGEN?

NIAGEN is a branded nicotinamide riboside chloride raw material. The trademark identifies a source ingredient, but it does not by itself verify the finished product or prove better clinical outcomes.

Is NR better than NMN?

No universal winner has been established. NR and NMN are different NAD+ precursors with different label identities and research. Compare the exact ingredient, amount, formulation, study population, and measured outcome rather than ranking the acronyms alone.

Does NR increase NAD+?

Controlled human studies show that oral NR can increase specified whole-blood NAD+ and related metabolites. That biomarker result does not show how every tissue responds or guarantee improved energy, cognition, metabolism, or health.

Does NR reverse aging?

No. NR has not been shown to reverse human aging or extend lifespan. Increasing a specified NAD-related blood marker is not equivalent to becoming biologically younger.

Is 300 mg a standard NR dose?

Three hundred milligrams appears on NR supplement labels and is also the EU maximum daily amount for a specified adult NR chloride supplement use. It is not a universal requirement or personal target.

Does NR cause a niacin flush?

NR does not share the classic flushing profile of nicotinic acid, and an eight-week dose-ranging trial reported no flushing. That result does not guarantee that every formulation and user will have no adverse effect.

What can NutriDetector review on an NR label?

NutriDetector reviews supported nicotinamide riboside, NR chloride, NIAGEN, liposomal, and sublingual wording, the amount per listed serving, amount basis, serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula. It evaluates disclosed label information rather than laboratory-testing the product or measuring a personal NAD+ response.

Human trials, regulatory context, and label sources
  1. Trammell SAJ, Schmidt MS, Weidemann BJ, et al. Nicotinamide riboside is uniquely and orally bioavailable in mice and humans. Nat Commun. 2016;7:12948. PubMed.
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Agency Response Letter GRAS Notice No. GRN 000635: Nicotinamide riboside chloride. 2016. FDA.
  3. Conze D, Crespo-Barreto J, Kruger CL. Safety and Metabolism of Long-term Administration of NIAGEN in a Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-controlled Clinical Trial of Healthy Overweight Adults. Sci Rep. 2019;9:9772. PubMed.
  4. Martens CR, Denman BA, Mazzo MR, et al. Chronic nicotinamide riboside supplementation is well-tolerated and elevates NAD+ in healthy middle-aged and older adults. Nat Commun. 2018;9:1286. PubMed.
  5. Dollerup OL, Christensen B, Svart M, et al. A randomized placebo-controlled clinical trial of nicotinamide riboside in obese men: safety, insulin-sensitivity, and lipid-mobilizing effects. Am J Clin Nutr. 2018;108(2):343-353. PubMed.
  6. Remie CME, Roumans KHM, Moonen MPB, et al. Nicotinamide riboside supplementation alters body composition and skeletal muscle acetylcarnitine concentrations in healthy obese humans. Am J Clin Nutr. 2020;112(2):413-426. PubMed.
  7. Martens CR, Decker KP, DeConne TM, et al. A phase-II randomized controlled pilot study of nicotinamide riboside supplementation in older adults with amnestic mild cognitive impairment. Alzheimers Dement. 2026;22(7):e71605. PubMed.
  8. Trętowicz MM, et al. Human whole-blood NAD+ levels do not vary with age or lifestyle interventions. Nat Metab. 2026. Nature Metabolism.
  9. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database. Label record declaring 300 mg of nicotinamide riboside chloride in a two-capsule serving. Label record.
  10. European Commission. Union list of novel foods: nicotinamide riboside chloride conditions of use. Consolidated Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/2470. EUR-Lex.
  11. Vinten KT, Trętowicz MM, Coskun E, et al. NAD+ precursor supplementation in human ageing: clinical evidence and challenges. Nat Metab. 2025;7:1974-1990. Nature Metabolism.