Ingredient label guide
Soy Isoflavones: Evidence, Amounts, Forms, and Label Guide
A soy isoflavone label can show a small active amount beside a much larger soy-extract weight, list individual compounds, or omit the basis used for the total. Start with the isoflavone amount per full serving, the reporting basis, and whether individual amounts remain hidden in a blend.
Related label terms: soya isoflavones, soybean isoflavones, Glycine max extract, soy germ extract, genistein, daidzein, glycitein, genistin, daidzin, glycitin, aglycone isoflavones, or aglycone isoflavone equivalents.
Overview
Soy isoflavones are a family of compounds, not a single form of estrogen
Soybeans contain several isoflavones. Genistein, daidzein, and glycitein are the main compounds discussed on supplement labels and in soy research. They are called phytoestrogens because their structures are related to estradiol and they can interact with estrogen receptors. They are not human estrogen and are not the same treatment as menopausal hormone therapy. 1, 3
Whole soy foods, soy protein, soy lecithin, and concentrated isoflavone extracts are also different products. They can contain different amounts and profiles of isoflavones, as well as different proteins, fiber, and other food components. Evidence from one of these categories should not be transferred automatically to another. 1, 4
There is no established Daily Value for soy isoflavones
A Supplement Facts panel may state an amount in milligrams, but soy isoflavones do not have an FDA Daily Value. A missing percent Daily Value is therefore not evidence that the amount is trivial, proven, or suitable for a particular person. 9
Evidence and claims
A plausible mechanism does not create one settled clinical result
Hot flashes: mixed evidence
NCCIH describes any reduction in hot-flash frequency or severity as potentially small and not completely consistent. The 2023 Menopause Society statement does not recommend soy foods or extracts for vasomotor symptoms because the evidence remains limited or inconsistent. 1, 2
Bone health: outcome specific
Some randomized-trial meta-analyses report modest changes in bone mineral density after menopause. That is not the same endpoint as preventing fractures, treating osteoporosis, or replacing calcium, vitamin D, exercise, or prescribed care. 7
Cholesterol support: do not transfer the claim
Replacing other proteins with soy protein may lower cholesterol slightly. NCCIH notes that soy isoflavones may not have the same effect, so a soy-protein finding does not validate an isolated isoflavone capsule. 1
Natural estrogen replacement: overstated marketing
Terms such as hormone balance, estrogen support, and natural HRT compress different mechanisms, doses, and clinical questions into a sales phrase. A supplement label cannot establish equivalence to hormone therapy or predict an individual response.
Even recent reviews of randomized trials do not produce one uniform answer. A 2024 meta-analysis of five trials found no significant improvement in overall menopausal symptoms or quality of life and reported a high risk of conflict of interest in the included studies. A 2025 meta-analysis found a small improvement in combined symptom scores but no significant effect on hot flashes, excessive sweating, insomnia, or the combined vasomotor category. Product composition, reporting basis, population, duration, and outcome choice all matter. 6, 10
Forms and label names
Total isoflavones, individual compounds, and aglycone equivalents answer different questions
Soy isoflavones can occur as free aglycones, simple glucosides, and other conjugated forms. Genistein, daidzein, and glycitein are the aglycone names; genistin, daidzin, and glycitin are their simple glucosides. The attached sugar contributes mass, so a glycoside-based total and an aglycone-equivalent total can give different numbers for related material. 4, 5
The NIH soy-research workshop recommended clear product characterization because an unqualified total can be interpreted in different ways. Aglycone wording can improve clarity, but it does not prove superior symptom relief or make every study directly comparable. 4
As one current regulatory example, Health Canada’s 2026 monograph requires quantified total aglycone isoflavone equivalents for its specified soy-extract and isolate claims. That Canadian labeling framework is useful context, but it is not a universal rule for every market or a prediction of how much an individual will absorb. 11
What common wording actually discloses
- Soy isoflavones 50 mg
- A direct total is stated. Check whether the label also identifies the source, individual profile, and reporting basis.
- Soy extract standardized to isoflavones
- The extract mass and stated percentage can disclose an active isoflavone yield. Keep the source amount and active amount as separate quantities.
- Genistein, daidzein, and glycitein
- An individual profile adds detail. Determine whether those amounts are a breakdown of the stated total or separate quantities before adding anything.
- Aglycone isoflavone equivalents
- The amount has been expressed on an aglycone basis so conjugated forms can be compared without counting their attached sugar mass as active aglycone.
- Soy protein or soy lecithin
- These are different soy-derived ingredients. Their gram or milligram amounts should not be treated as a declared soy-isoflavone dose.
Read the label
Do not compare soy-extract weight with active isoflavone weight
The largest number on the row is not always the active comparison number. Read the ingredient name, source mass, stated yield, individual-compound breakdown, serving size, and directions as one disclosure. Then keep each number attached to what it actually measures.
Six label examples worth separating
- Soy extract 100 mg, standardized to 40% isoflavones
- The label math yields 40 mg of isoflavones per listed serving. The 100 mg source mass and 40 mg active amount should not be added together.
- Total soy isoflavones 50 mg
- The active total is directly stated. Confirm whether this is per capsule or per full serving and whether the basis is named.
- Genistein 25 mg, daidzein 20 mg, glycitein 5 mg
- These disclosed amounts total 50 mg. If the same row also says total isoflavones 50 mg, do not count 100 mg.
- Soy germ extract 200 mg
- Without an isoflavone amount or standardization, 200 mg is only the extract mass. It does not disclose 200 mg of isoflavones.
- Menopause blend 500 mg
- If soy isoflavones are only named inside the blend, the total blend weight does not reveal their individual amount.
- Soy protein 25 g
- This is a protein amount, not a quantified isoflavone dose. Evidence and label math for soy protein should remain separate.
Phrases such as high potency, clinically studied, fermented, or menopause strength do not resolve a missing isoflavone amount or an unnamed reporting basis. A trademark can identify a supplied material, but the finished label still needs enough disclosure for a meaningful comparison.
Whole-formula view
Menopause formulas can combine different phytoestrogens and hide the useful comparison
Soy isoflavones may appear in a standalone capsule, a menopause blend, and a broader women’s-health formula. The same stack may also contain Red Clover, which has a different isoflavone profile, or Black Cohosh, which should not be counted as an isoflavone source merely because it appears in the same product category.
Calcium and Vitamin D3 may appear beside soy isoflavones in bone-support formulas. Each has a different amount, evidence base, safety context, and label unit. A shared marketing goal does not turn them into one combined dose.
What to compare across products
- Active isoflavone amount
- Compare directly stated totals or stated yields, not the mass of soy extract, soy protein, or the complete blend.
- Reporting basis
- Keep total isoflavones, aglycone equivalents, and individual compound amounts tied to the basis shown on each label.
- Serving and directions
- One capsule, a two-capsule serving, and twice-daily directions create different use contexts.
- Surrounding formula
- Review other phytoestrogens, botanicals, nutrients, allergens, and hidden blends separately instead of assigning the whole formula one evidence claim.
For a cross-ingredient view of vasomotor claims, see What Supplements Actually Help Hot Flashes?
Amounts and study context
A research range is not a universal supplement dose
EFSA reported that supplements marketed to peri- and postmenopausal women commonly provided 35 to 150 mg of isoflavones per day. That range describes products and studied exposure; it is not a recommendation for every person. EFSA could not derive one health-based guidance value across the different preparations. 3
A separate 2026 Health Canada monograph uses 30 to 125 mg of total aglycone isoflavone equivalents per day for specified menopause-related soy-extract claims. This is a Canadian product-licensing and labeling framework, not a universal personal dose recommendation. 11
Trial doses are also difficult to compare when one paper reports total glycosides, another reports aglycone equivalents, and another uses soy protein with an isoflavone profile. The product, basis, population, duration, and outcome need to match before a retail label can be described as equivalent to a study. 4
Numbers that should not be collapsed
- 50 mg per serving
- This is the product’s disclosed amount for its listed serving, not proof that the amount is effective or appropriate.
- 35 to 150 mg per day
- This EFSA-reported market and study range is context, not a target, recommended allowance, or safety ceiling.
- Daily Value not established
- No FDA percent Daily Value exists for soy isoflavones. The absence of a percentage does not remove the need to compare amount and serving.
- No single EFSA guidance value
- The available preparations and evidence did not support one health-based limit. That is uncertainty, not proof that any amount is harmless.
Safety and medicines
Whole soy foods and concentrated supplements need separate safety language
Soy can cause allergic reactions, and U.S. labels must identify soy as a major food allergen. Reported short-term side effects can include bloating, constipation, diarrhea, and nausea. NCCIH reports that concentrated soy extracts have been used safely for up to six months, while long-term supplement safety is less certain. 1
EFSA’s review did not support an increased breast-cancer risk in its observational data or effects on mammographic density and the Ki-67 proliferation marker in intervention studies. It found no effect on endometrial thickness or thyroid hormone levels within the studied postmenopausal exposures and durations. EFSA still could not set one health-based guidance value, and non-malignant uterine changes were reported after 60 months in one study. These findings should not be converted into an unlimited-safety claim. 3
Evidence supports the safety of eating soy foods for women with or at risk for breast cancer, but NCCIH says the safety of concentrated soy-isoflavone supplements in these groups remains uncertain. A current or previous estrogen-sensitive cancer, active cancer treatment, or use of endocrine therapy needs clinician-specific review rather than a conclusion from the front label. 12
Soy foods and soy protein have been reported to interfere with levothyroxine absorption in some use contexts, but the evidence is limited and should not automatically be transferred to every isolated soy-isoflavone capsule. A 2023 review noted that the available prospective randomized study did not find impaired levothyroxine absorption when soy isoflavones were taken concomitantly. People using thyroid hormone should still follow consistent medication instructions and the timing plan provided by their prescriber or pharmacist. 8, 13
NCCIH advises that amounts greater than those commonly found in food may be unsafe during pregnancy, and safety above food amounts while breastfeeding is not well known. A menopause-oriented label does not establish suitability during pregnancy or lactation. 1
NutriDetector approach
How NutriDetector reads soy isoflavone labels
NutriDetector reviews whether the label identifies soy isoflavones or a soy extract, the amount per listed serving, visible standardization or active yield, an individual isoflavone breakdown, aglycone-equivalent wording, serving directions, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula. It does not treat soy protein, soy lecithin, soy-extract mass, and directly stated total isoflavones as interchangeable quantities.
When products are added to My Stack, NutriDetector can compare the disclosed soy-related ingredients, amounts, reporting basis, serving context, and co-ingredients across supplements. When the active amount or reporting basis is not disclosed, that uncertainty remains visible rather than being treated as known.
NutriDetector evaluates the information disclosed on the label. Laboratory testing would still be required to confirm identity, actual isoflavone content, purity, contaminants, or batch consistency, while symptom assessment, medicine compatibility, and personal suitability depend on the individual and the complete product.
Analyze the full formula
Check the isoflavone amount, basis, and serving context together.
See how total isoflavones, soy-extract weight, standardization, individual compounds, blend transparency, and the surrounding formula affect the label analysis.
Questions and boundaries
Soy isoflavone supplement FAQ
Are soy isoflavones the same as estrogen or hormone therapy?
No. Soy isoflavones are plant compounds that can interact with estrogen receptors, but they are not human estrogen and are not equivalent to menopausal hormone therapy.
Are soy isoflavones the same as soy protein?
No. Soy protein is a protein ingredient or food component, while soy isoflavones are a family of smaller bioactive compounds. A gram amount of soy protein should not be read as a milligram amount of isoflavones.
What does a soy extract standardized to 40% isoflavones mean?
It means the label declares isoflavones as 40% of the stated extract mass. For a 100 mg extract, the label math yields 40 mg of isoflavones per listed serving. It does not verify the physical contents without product testing.
What are genistein, daidzein, and glycitein?
They are the principal soy isoflavone aglycones. A label may state them individually, show them as a profile within total isoflavones, or omit the breakdown. Do not add a profile to its stated total twice.
What do aglycone isoflavone equivalents mean?
They express conjugated isoflavone forms on an aglycone basis. This removes the attached sugar mass from the comparison and can make unlike chemical forms easier to compare, but it does not guarantee a better clinical result.
Do soy isoflavones help with hot flashes?
Evidence is inconsistent. NCCIH says any benefit may be small, while the 2023 Menopause Society statement does not recommend soy foods or extracts for vasomotor symptoms because the evidence is limited or inconsistent.
What soy isoflavone amount is commonly used in supplements?
EFSA reported that products aimed at peri- and postmenopausal women commonly provided 35 to 150 mg per day. A 2026 Health Canada monograph uses 30 to 125 mg of total aglycone isoflavone equivalents for specified menopause-related claims. Both are regulatory or study context, not a universal recommended dose, Daily Value, or safety limit.
Are soy isoflavone supplements safe after breast cancer?
Whole soy foods and concentrated supplements are different questions. NCCIH considers soy foods safe for women with or at risk for breast cancer, but says the safety of soy isoflavone supplements in these groups is uncertain. Supplement use should be reviewed with the oncology team.
Can soy products interfere with levothyroxine?
Soy foods and soy protein have been reported to interfere with levothyroxine absorption in some situations, but the evidence is limited and should not automatically be transferred to every isolated soy-isoflavone supplement. A prospective randomized study did not find impaired levothyroxine absorption with concomitant soy isoflavones. Follow consistent medication instructions and the timing plan provided by the prescriber or pharmacist.
What does NutriDetector review on a soy isoflavone label?
NutriDetector reviews the disclosed soy ingredient, amount per listed serving, visible standardization or active yield, individual isoflavone breakdown, aglycone-equivalent wording, serving directions, blend transparency, and surrounding formula. My Stack can compare these disclosed details across saved products.
Scientific references and safety sources
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Soy: Usefulness and Safety. Updated April 2025. NCCIH.
- The North American Menopause Society Advisory Panel. The 2023 nonhormone therapy position statement of The North American Menopause Society. Menopause. 2023;30(6):573-590. PubMed.
- EFSA Panel on Food Additives and Nutrient Sources added to Food. Risk assessment for peri- and post-menopausal women taking food supplements containing isolated isoflavones. EFSA Journal. 2015;13(10):4246. EFSA.
- Klein MA, Nahin RL, Messina MJ, et al. Guidance from an NIH workshop on designing, implementing, and reporting clinical studies of soy interventions. The Journal of Nutrition. 2010;140(6):1192S-1204S. PubMed.
- Collison MW. Determination of total soy isoflavones in dietary supplements, supplement ingredients, and soy foods by high-performance liquid chromatography with ultraviolet detection: collaborative study. Journal of AOAC International. 2008;91(3):489-500. PubMed.
- Gençtürk N, Bilgiç FŞ, Kaban HU. The effect of soy isoflavones given to women in the climacteric period on menopausal symptoms and quality of life: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Explore. 2024;20(6):103012. PubMed.
- Barańska A, Kanadys W, Bogdan M, et al. The role of soy isoflavones in the prevention of bone loss in postmenopausal women: a systematic review with meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Clinical Medicine. 2022;11(16):4676. PubMed.
- American Thyroid Association. Thyroid Hormone Treatment. ATA.
- U.S. Code of Federal Regulations. 21 CFR 101.36: Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements. eCFR.
- Luan H, Liu Q, Guo Y, et al. Effects of soy isoflavones on menopausal symptoms in perimenopausal women: a systematic review and meta-analysis. PeerJ. 2025;13:e19715. PubMed.
- Health Canada, Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate. Soybean Extracts and Isolates. May 29, 2026. Health Canada.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Menopausal Symptoms and Complementary Health Approaches: What the Science Says. NCCIH.
- Gatta E, Maltese V, Cavadini M, et al. Interference or Noninterference Between Soy and Levothyroxine: That Is the Question. A Narrative Review of Literature. Endocr Pract. 2023;29(11):897-901. PubMed.
