Ingredient Directory A to Z

Ingredient label guide

Sodium: Forms, Salt Math, and Label Guide

Sodium appears in electrolyte powders, hydration products, sports formulas, sodium bicarbonate products, multivitamins, and mineral supplements. The useful label questions are how many milligrams of sodium the full serving provides, what percent Daily Value that represents, which compound supplies it, and how repeated servings fit into total intake from food and supplements.

Also listed as: sodium. It may be supplied by sodium chloride, sea salt, sodium bicarbonate, sodium hydrogen carbonate, sodium citrate, trisodium citrate, or another disclosed source.

NutriDetector Editorial Team Updated Editorial Policy

Sodium is the nutrient; salt is one common source

Sodium is an essential mineral and the major positively charged ion in extracellular fluid. It helps regulate extracellular fluid volume and osmolality and contributes to membrane potentials, nerve signaling, muscle function, and sodium-coupled transport. 3, 5

Ordinary salt is sodium chloride. It supplies both sodium and chloride, but the two remain separate nutrients.

A sodium supplement label is only part of total intake

Most sodium intake comes from food rather than supplements. A hydration packet or sports product can still add a meaningful amount, especially when several servings are used. Product comparisons therefore need the amount per full serving and the intended serving pattern, not just the words “electrolytes” or “hydration” on the front label.

The physiological role is established; the product promise still needs context

Fluid and osmotic balance

Sodium is the principal cation in extracellular fluid and a major determinant of extracellular volume and osmolality. Blood sodium concentration, however, reflects water balance as well as sodium. 5

Nerve and muscle function

Sodium gradients across cell membranes contribute to action potentials and normal nerve and muscle function. This does not show that adding more sodium improves performance in every user. 5

Hydration formulas

Sodium is often paired with chloride, potassium, and sometimes carbohydrate in hydration products. The useful comparison is the full formula and serving, not the number of electrolyte names.

Sports-buffer products

Sodium bicarbonate may be sold for buffering or high-intensity exercise. Its compound weight and sodium contribution are separate facts, and tolerance or suitability cannot be inferred from the front-label claim.

First identify what the milligrams belong to

A line written as “Sodium 500 mg (as sodium chloride)” already declares 500 mg of sodium. Sodium chloride identifies the source. The 500 mg should not be treated as the total salt weight or converted again.

A line written only as “Sodium chloride 1,000 mg” is different. That number belongs to the complete compound. Based on molecular weights, 1,000 mg of sodium chloride contains about 393 mg of sodium. The same distinction applies to sodium bicarbonate and sodium citrate. 6, 7, 8

Approximate sodium content of disclosed compound weights

These conversions apply only when the milligrams belong to the full named compound. They are not needed when the label already states a Sodium amount.

Sodium chloride, 1,000 mg
About 393 mg sodium. The remaining mass is chloride.
Sodium bicarbonate, 1,000 mg
About 274 mg sodium. The rest of the compound is bicarbonate.
Anhydrous trisodium citrate, 1,000 mg
About 267 mg sodium, based on the anhydrous compound.
Trisodium citrate dihydrate, 1,000 mg
About 235 mg sodium because the hydrated compound includes water in its mass.
Sodium citrate, form not specified
Do not force a precise conversion when the label does not establish the exact citrate compound or hydration state.

Percent Daily Value becomes useful after the full serving is clear

The current FDA Daily Value for sodium is 2,300 mg for adults and children age 4 and older. Percent Daily Value describes the sodium in one listed serving relative to that label reference. A serving with 500 mg of sodium is about 22% Daily Value after rounding. 1, 2

FDA uses 5% Daily Value or less as a general guide for a low amount per serving and 20% or more as a high amount. Those terms describe the label contribution. They do not determine whether the serving is appropriate for a particular workout, diet, symptom, or medical need. 1

Illustrative sodium label lines

These examples explain disclosure quality. They are not product or dosing recommendations.

Sodium, 500 mg, 22% DV per packet
The sodium amount, percent Daily Value, and serving are clear. The source and complete formula still matter.
Sodium, 500 mg (as sodium chloride)
The 500 mg is sodium. Sodium chloride is the source, not an instruction to convert the amount again.
Sodium chloride, 1,000 mg
The amount belongs to the full salt. It corresponds to about 393 mg of sodium, not 1,000 mg of sodium.
Proprietary Electrolyte Blend, 2,000 mg
A total blend weight does not reveal the individual sodium, chloride, potassium, or magnesium amounts. See what a proprietary blend means on a supplement label for why the total cannot be assigned to individual nutrients.
Sea salt, 450 mg; Sodium, 177 mg
The disclosed sodium amount is the useful nutrient number. “Sea salt” does not prove a meaningfully lower sodium content or superior trace-mineral value.

Keep the sodium amount attached to its label basis

Start with the full serving, then distinguish a directly declared Sodium amount from the weight of sodium chloride, sodium bicarbonate, sodium citrate, or a proprietary electrolyte blend. Record chloride, potassium, magnesium, carbohydrate, and other formula components as separate disclosures rather than folding them into one electrolyte number.

For the broader category, see the Electrolytes label guide.

Small servings can become a large combined total

Sodium can appear in a hydration packet, pre-workout, sodium bicarbonate product, multivitamin, and mineral formula at the same time. Some products declare sodium directly while others show a sodium-containing source compound. These quantities should not be added until the basis of each number is clear.

When products are added to My Stack, NutriDetector can compare supported disclosed electrolyte ingredients, serving context, blend transparency, and co-ingredients across saved supplements. A stated Sodium amount, a sodium chloride compound weight, and a total electrolyte-blend weight remain different kinds of label information.

Illustrative sodium stack

This example shows why the full serving matters. It is not a recommended combination.

Hydration packet
Sodium 500 mg per packet
Pre-workout
Sodium 200 mg per scoop, with directions allowing two scoops
Salt capsule
Sodium chloride 1,000 mg, equal to about 393 mg sodium
What the labels establish
The products disclose sodium on different bases. Compare the actual number of servings and normalize only clearly supported compound amounts before considering the supplement contribution alongside dietary sodium.

Three public-health numbers answer different questions

The FDA Daily Value of 2,300 mg is the denominator used for US label percent Daily Value. The National Academies set an Adequate Intake of 1,500 mg per day for adults and a Chronic Disease Risk Reduction Intake advising reduction when total intake is above 2,300 mg per day. The 2,300 mg CDRR is not a classic Tolerable Upper Intake Level. 1, 3

WHO recommends less than 2,000 mg of sodium per day for adults, equivalent to less than 5 g of salt. The difference between public references is one reason not to present any of them as a personal supplement target. They refer to total intake from food, beverages, salt, and supplements combined. 4

Keep the reference points separate

FDA Daily Value: 2,300 mg
Used to calculate percent Daily Value on US labels.
Adult Adequate Intake: 1,500 mg
An estimated adequate total daily intake, not a supplement dose.
Sodium CDRR: reduce above 2,300 mg
A chronic-disease risk-reduction threshold for total intake, not a classic toxicity ceiling.
WHO adult recommendation: under 2,000 mg
A population-level public-health recommendation for total daily sodium intake.

Total intake matters more than the source name on one product

Higher sodium intake can raise blood pressure, and reducing intake when usual intake is above the sodium CDRR is expected to reduce chronic-disease risk in an apparently healthy population. A single supplement is only one part of that total, but a high-sodium powder used repeatedly can make a substantial contribution. 3, 4

People managing high blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, heart failure, edema, kidney disease, or a clinician-directed sodium limit should assess the complete product and total diet with qualified guidance. “Electrolyte” does not remove the sodium contribution.

Low blood sodium is not simply the opposite of high sodium intake and should not be self-treated from a supplement label. Water balance, medicines, illness, kidney handling, and other factors can change the interpretation. Symptoms or suspected electrolyte disturbances need appropriate assessment.

How NutriDetector reviews sodium labels

NutriDetector reviews supported sodium-related wording, listed serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding electrolyte formula. The analysis is read alongside the original Supplement Facts panel so the stated Sodium amount, percent Daily Value, and source phrase remain attached to the label that disclosed them.

When products are added to My Stack, NutriDetector can compare supported disclosed electrolyte ingredients, serving context, blend transparency, and co-ingredients across saved supplements. A directly stated Sodium amount, a full source-compound weight, and a total blend weight should not be treated as interchangeable quantities.

NutriDetector evaluates information disclosed on the label. Laboratory testing would still be required to confirm actual composition, purity, contaminants, and batch consistency, while hydration status, blood-pressure response, medication compatibility, and personal suitability depend on the individual and the complete product.

Analyze the full formula

Read the sodium amount before the hydration claim.

Analyze the complete supplement label to review sodium amount, percent Daily Value, source compound, serving size, surrounding electrolytes, and any individual nutrient amount hidden inside a blend.

Analyze a supplement label

Sodium supplement FAQ

What is sodium?

Sodium is an essential mineral and the major positively charged ion in extracellular fluid. It contributes to fluid balance, osmolality, membrane potentials, nerve signaling, muscle function, and active transport. These established roles do not show that every person needs a sodium supplement.

Is sodium the same as salt?

No. Sodium is a mineral nutrient. Table salt is sodium chloride, a compound that contains both sodium and chloride. By mass, 1,000 mg of sodium chloride contains about 393 mg of sodium.

What does “Sodium (as sodium chloride)” mean?

It means the stated milligrams belong to sodium and sodium chloride identifies the source. Do not treat that Sodium number as the total salt weight or convert it a second time.

How much sodium is in 1,000 mg of sodium chloride?

About 393 mg, based on the molecular masses of sodium and sodium chloride. This conversion applies when 1,000 mg is explicitly the sodium chloride compound weight. It is not needed when the panel already declares a Sodium amount.

How much sodium does sodium bicarbonate add?

Sodium bicarbonate is about 27.4% sodium by mass, so 1,000 mg of the compound contains about 274 mg of sodium. If a Supplement Facts panel separately states Sodium milligrams, use the stated nutrient amount rather than converting it again.

Does every sodium citrate form contain the same percentage of sodium?

No. Anhydrous trisodium citrate is about 26.7% sodium by mass, while trisodium citrate dihydrate is about 23.5%. If the hydration state or exact citrate compound is not disclosed, do not force a precise conversion from the compound weight.

How is sodium percent Daily Value calculated?

For US labels intended for adults and children age 4 and older, divide the sodium amount per serving by the FDA Daily Value of 2,300 mg and multiply by 100. For example, 500 mg is about 22% Daily Value after rounding.

Is sea salt lower in sodium than ordinary salt?

Not in a way that should be assumed from the name alone. Sea salt, table salt, and specialty salts are primarily sodium chloride. Crystal size can change the amount that fits in a spoon, but a supplement comparison should use the declared Sodium milligrams per serving.

Is more sodium always better for hydration?

No. Sodium is an essential electrolyte, but a label amount alone cannot determine sweat losses, hydration status, blood sodium, or performance benefit. Water, exercise conditions, diet, health context, serving pattern, and the rest of the formula all matter.

What does NutriDetector check on a sodium label?

NutriDetector reviews supported sodium-related wording, listed serving context, blend transparency, and the surrounding electrolyte formula. The analysis should be read with the original Supplement Facts panel so a stated Sodium amount, source-compound weight, and total blend weight are not treated as the same quantity.

Scientific references and regulatory sources
  1. Current US Daily Value and percent Daily Value: US Food and Drug Administration. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. Sodium Daily Value: 2,300 mg.
  2. Supplement Facts labeling: US Food and Drug Administration. Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide, Chapter IV: Nutrition Labeling.
  3. Adequate Intake and Chronic Disease Risk Reduction Intake: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Dietary Reference Intakes for Sodium and Potassium. National Academies Press. 2019.
  4. Global sodium recommendation and salt conversion: World Health Organization. Sodium reduction.
  5. Physiological roles: National Research Council. Water and Electrolytes. Recommended Dietary Allowances. National Center for Biotechnology Information.
  6. Sodium chloride composition: National Library of Medicine. Sodium Chloride. PubChem CID 5234.
  7. Sodium bicarbonate composition: National Library of Medicine. Sodium Bicarbonate. PubChem CID 516892.
  8. Sodium citrate composition: National Library of Medicine. Trisodium citrate and Sodium citrate dihydrate. PubChem.
  9. Real supplement-label pattern: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Sea Salt Sodium Chloride 450 mg label record. Dietary Supplement Label Database.